2018 town meeting minutes

NOTE:  These are draft minutes until approved in December, 2020 at the next town meeting.

2018 Civic Betterment Party
DRAFT Town Meeting Minutes 

The 2018 Civic Betterment Party Town Meeting was called to order by President Erik Ford at 10:08 am., Saturday, December 1 at First United Methodist Church due to construction at the Civic Center. A quorum was present. Following the presentation of colors by Boy Scout Troop 41, Erik welcomed attendees and acknowledged the passing of former President George H. W. Bush, describing him as an exemplary public servant.

Erik reviewed the function of  Civic Betterment: to facilitate the candidacy of  qualified individuals who wish to serve in an elected Village position or as Library Trustee, without the need to organize and finance a campaign. It has served the Village well since 1931 and functions entirely through the efforts of volunteers. Our motto is “Neighbors Nominating Neighbors.”

Civic Betterment administers a process that strives to avoid the influence of money and parties in Village politics. Our candidates are not beholden to any political party, funding source, or other financial interest. We do not endorse candidates, nor do we ask for positions on specific issues. Rather, we slate those who understand the responsibilities and commitments of the position they seek and who will act with the best interests of the entire Village in mind. Unfortunately, though all candidates slated by CBP are qualified, not all will move forward. We hope unsuccessful candidates will choose to run again.

Erik thanked the officers of the CBP and the members of the Nominating Committee, First United Methodist Church and especially Mary Jane Chapman for hosting the Town Meeting, Dawn Bussey and the GE Public Library for hosting early voting, Thom and Sue Martin for maintaining and updating our website, and the League of Women Voters for tallying our vote and advising us on electoral best practices. We rely entirely on donations to fund activities and appreciate residents’ support. Erik thanked all for attending, and asked those present to visit our website and follow us on our Facebook page.

Secretary Barb Lemme read the minutes of the 2016 Town Meeting. They were approved as read.  Treasurer Chris Wilson presented the Treasurer’s report: beginning balance January 1, 2017 $75.64; contributions to date $4684.00; expenses to date $1839.29; balance remaining $2920.35. Printing, postage, Town Meeting expenses are outstanding. Report was accepted.

Erik Ford presented nominations for CBP officer and Nominating Committee positions. He explained that the V-P traditionally deals with election law, filing of petitions, economic interest forms, etc. Those nominated were: Steve Butkus for Vice-President; Chris Wilson for Treasurer; for Nominating Committee Zak Wilson, Chip Miller, Sheryl Appleberry, Rob Herbold, Josh Cattero, Julie Spiller, Ray Campbell, and Sheila Faber. There were no nominations from the floor; nominations were closed, slate accepted by acclamation.

Nominating Committee Chair Margi Hamilton presented candidates slated by the CBP Nominating Committee, followed by candidate speeches. For Library Board (4 open positions): Karen Volk, Tim Brinker, Dwight Clark, Dena Herbert, Linda Newman, Jennifer Shanahan, Molly Hoerster, and Molly McGinnis Knapke.  For Village Trustee (3 open positions):  Mark Senak, Matthew Jones, Kelli Christiansen, and Steve Thompson. Patrick Escalante withdrew for personal reasons. No additional nominations; nominations closed.

Illinois Election law requires us to use a different party name on the April ballot than in the previous election. It was moved and seconded to approve the name Citizens Nominating Party. Motion passed. Our Village Trustee candidates will run under that name. Library Trustee candidates run as individuals without party affiliation.

Erik made the following announcements. On January 17th the League of Women Voters will host the State of the Village address by President Diane McGinley. Other village officers will be present. Starting December 3rd, members will be circulating petitions for successful candidates to be placed on the spring ballot. Our next Town Meeting will be in 2020 at the Civic Center.

There being no other business, the meeting was suspended at 11:20, to be reconvened when the vote count was completed. Polls remained open until 4:00 p.m.

The meeting reconvened at 4:27. Ballots were counted by the League of Women Voters and results announced and posted on the CBP website. A total of 525 voter affidavits were filed. Those elected (and vote totals) were: Village Trustees Mark Senak (334), Kelli Christiansen (317),  Steve Thompson (285),  Matthew Jones (223), Patrick Escalante (33), write-ins Brett Wallin (1), Tom Whoals (2), Jeff Abeln (1), Adam Kreuzer (1), Angela Fanellon (1);  Library  Trustees Molly McGinnis Knapke (299),  Molly Hoerster (251), Tim Brinker (235),  Karen Volk (213),  Linda Newman (202), Dwight Clark (189), Jennifer Shanahan (138), Dena Herbert (115); write-ins each with 1 vote: Michele Bodzioch, John Lewis Larsen, Lisa Abeln, Angela Fanellon. The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barb Lemme
Secretary, Civic Betterment Party